Academic Calendar

The Academic Calendar at Umeå University is divided into two terms (semesters). The Autumn Term begins during the beginning of September and ends in the middle of January. The Spring Term begins in the middle of January and ends during the early part of June. There are also summer courses offered during the months of June, July and August.

Academic Term Dates
Ceremony Dates
Swedish Holidays and Observances

Academic Term Dates

Autumn Term 2014

1 September 2014 - 18 January 2015

Divided into four 7.5 ECTS courses with a normal study rate*
1 September 2014 - 30 September 2014
1 October 2014 - 30 October 2014
31 October 2014 - 2 December 2014
3 December 2014 - 19 January 2015

Spring Term 2015

19 January 2015 - 7 June 2015

Divided into four 7.5 ECTS courses with a normal study rate*
19 January 2015 - 28 February 2015
29 February 2015 - 23 March 2015
24 March 2015 - 3 May 2015
4 May 2014 - 7 June 2015

Autumn Term 2015

31 August 2015 - 17 January 2016

Divided into four 7.5 ECTS courses with a normal study rate*
31 August 2015 - 29 September 2015
30 September 2015 - 30 October 2015
31 October 2015 - 2 December 2015
3 December 2015 - 17 January 2016

* The duration of a course can vary under certain circumstances.

Ceremony Dates

Spring Conferment for Doctorate Recipients:
Saturday, 31 May 2014, Aula Nordica

Annual Autumn Ceremony for Honorary Doctors, Newly Appointed Professors and Award Recipients:
Saturday, 18 October 2014, Aula Nordica

Swedish Holidays and Observances 2014/2015

Wed. 1 January 2014 Nyårsdagen New Year's Day
Mon. 6 January 2014 Trettondedag jul Epiphany (13th Day of Christmas)
Fri. 18 April 2014 Långfredagen Good Friday
Sun. 20 April 2014 Påskdagen Easter Sunday
Mon. 21 April 2014 Annandag påsk Easter Monday
Wed. 30 April 2014 Valborgsmässoafton Walpurgis Eve
Thurs. 1 May 2014 Första maj International Workers' Day
Thurs. 29 May 2014 Kristi himmelfärds dag Ascension Day
Fri. 6 June 2014 National Day of Sweden National Day of Sweden
Fri. 20 June 2014 Midsommarafton Midsummer Eve
Sat. 21 June 2014 Midsommardagen Midsummer Day
Sat. 1 November 2014 Alla helgons dag All Saints' Day
Wed. 24 December 2014 Julafton Christmas Eve
Thurs. 25 December 2014 Juldagen Christmas Day
Fri. 26 December 2014 Annandag jul Boxing Day (2nd Day of Christmas)
Wed. 31 December 2014 Nyårsafton New Year's Eve
Thurs. 1 January 2015 Nyårsdagen New Year's Day
Tue. 6 January 2015 Trettondedag jul Epiphany (13th Day of Christmas)
Fri. 3 April 2015 Långfredagen Good Friday
Sun. 5 April 2015 Påskdagen Easter Sunday
Mon. 6 April 2015 Annandag påsk Easter Monday
Thurs. 30 April 2015 Valborgsmässoafton Walpurgis Eve
Fri. 1 May 2015 Första maj International Workers' Day
Thurs. 14 May 2015 Kristi himmelfärds dag Ascension Day
Sat. 6 June 2015 National Day of Sweden National Day of Sweden
Fri. 19 June 2015 Midsommarafton Midsummer Eve


Lila krokus i närbild

Image: Mattias Pettersson

Celebrating the Swedish Way

Learn more about Swedish holidays and traditions from the Swedish Institute