The University Board

The highest branch at Umeå University is the University Board of Directors. It is the responsibility of the Board to decide on, among other things, the distribution of resources within the University.

The Board is made up of eight members who are appointed by the Swedish government. The board represents both community and business interests. Therefore, it is possible to have a Chairperson that is not a member of the University body.
The Board is also made up of the Vice-Chancellor, three members of the Board whom represent teachers, and three members of the Board for the student body as well.

The University Management

The University Management includes: Hans Adolfsson (Vice-Chancellor), Katrine Riklund (Pro-Vice-Chancellor with responsibility for research), Heidi Hansson (Deputy Vice-Chancellor of internationalisation and equal opportunities), Dieter Müller (Deputy Vice-Chancellor of research), and Caroline Sjöberg (University Director) and Per Ragnarsson (Deputy University Director).

The Faculty

Every faculty at Umeå University is headed by a Dean, who is also the chairperson for their faculty's respective Faculty Board. The Faculty Board is responsible for scientific research, post-graduate education, as well as undergraduate education within the faculty. The board's members are elected to their posts, with exception to the student members.

The Department

The basic unit of the University is the department. Departments carry out education as well as research within one or several related issues. The department is the primary work place, not just for students, teacher and researchers, but as well for other professionals such as secretaries, janitors, technicians and instrument makers. The department is normally lead by a departmental board where at least two students are members. The head of every department has the title - Head of Department (in Swedish: Prefekt).

Contact Information

University Board Secretary
Daniel Andersson
SE-901 87 Umeå, Sweden 

Visiting Address
University Liaison Building, Level 6

Tel:  +46 (0)90-786 99 11

Fax:  +46 (0)90-786 66 62

Contact Form