University Management

The University Management consists of the Vice-Chancellor, Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Deputy Vice-Chancellors, University Director and Deputy University Director.

The Vice-Chancellor is appointed by the government for a tenure of up to six years, on a recommendation from the University Board. The Vice-Chancellor is the head of the university and its chief representative. The Vice-Chancellor is responsible for the achievement of the goals set by the University Board. Hans Adolfsson is the Vice-Chancellor of Umeå University.
Read more about Hans Adolfsson

The Pro-Vice-Chancellor is appointed by the University Board for a tenure of up to six years. Katrine Riklund is Pro-Vice-Chancellor and functions as surrogate for the Vice-Chancellor. Katrine Riklund is responsible for research in medicine, sciences and technology.
Read more about Katrine Riklund

The Deputy Vice-Chancellor for Research in social sciences and the arts is Dieter Müller.
Read more about Dieter Müller

The Deputy Vice-Chancellor for Internationalisation and Equal Opportunities is Heidi Hansson.
Read more about Heidi Hansson

The Deputy Vice-Chancellor of Education is Anders Fällström.
Read more about Anders Fällström

The University Director is Caroline Sjöberg.
Read more about Caroline Sjöberg

The Deputy University Director is Per Ragnarsson.

Read more about Per Ragnarsson

On the side of the University Management are two additional offices available for support but not included in the Managment.

Extended term of office in collaboration

Agneta Marell, professor in Business Administration and Deputy Vice-Chancellor with responsibility for collaboration and innovation has been extended until end of October 2016 in order to further strengthen this field through the transitional period. Her role is not included in the University Management.

Read more about Agneta Marell

Senior Adviser for research

Marianne Sommarin, professor in Plant Biochemistry and previous Deputy Vice-Chancellor with responsibility for research, is Vice-Chancellor councellor with responsibility for research. Her role is not included in the University Management.

Read more about Marianne Sommarin

Page Editor: Communications Office

Print page

Contact Information

Management support

Vice-Chancellor coordinator
Malin Larsson
Phone: +46 90-786 71 08

Secretary to Vice-Chancellor Hans Adolfsson and University Director Caroline Sjöberg

Katarina Andersson
Phone: +46 90-786 63 27

Secretary to Pro-Vice-Chancellor Katrine Åhlström Riklund and Deputy Vice-Chancellor Anders Fällström:

Anna Tjernberg
Phone: +46 90-786 55 48

Secretary to Deputy Vice-Chancellor Heidi Andersson and Dieter Müller as well as Deputy University Director Per Ragnarsson:

Karina Sandström
Phone: +46 90-786 52 02
Fax: +46 90-786 66 62

Visiting address:

University Liaison Building (Samverkanshuset), Universitetstorget 4, Level 6