

PROCEDURES FOR THE UMEÅ UNIVERSITY MEDAL OF MERIT

Type of document:	Procedures ¹
Date:	20 February 2019
Reg. no.:	FS 1.1-229-19
Approved by:	University Board
Validity:	Until further notice
Field:	Decision structure, delegation and organisation
Office in charge:	Planning Office
Replaces document:	Procedures for the Umeå University Medal of Merit, approved by the
_	Vice-Chancellor on 5 November 2009 (Umu 120-2367-09)

¹ This document has been translated from Swedish into English. If the English version differs from the original, the Swedish version takes precedence.



Table of contents

1.	Description		
2.	Backg	ckground3	
	2.1.	Frequency and criteria	
	2.2.	Nominations	
	2.3.	Committee3	
	2.4.	Awarding	
Apper	ndix 1.	4	
	Previo	ous recipients of the Umeå University Medal of Merit4	



1. Description

Umeå University's Medal of Merit is awarded every three years to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the University. The recipient of the medal can be a member of staff at the University or an external associate – active or retired. This document outlines the procedures for selecting the medal recipients.

2. Background

The Umeå University Medal of Merit has been awarded twenty times between 1985 and 2016 to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the University. On 5 November 2009, the University Board established the statutes and criteria for awarding the Medal of Merit, which were adopted following the approval of the decision *Procedures for the Umeå University Medal of Merit* (Umu 120-2367-09). These procedures replace the above decision.

This document is expected to have positive effects on gender equality at Umeå University by observing gender equality when nominating medal recipients. See *Rules for university-wide policy documents*, section 3.10–3.11

2.1. Frequency and criteria

- The Umeå University Medal of Merit is awarded every three years, assuming there is a worthy recipient.
- The recipient of the Medal of Merit must have made significantly outstanding contributions to Umeå University.
- The recipient can be a member of staff at the University or an external associate active or retired.

2.2. Nominations

- The following are entitled to nominate people for the Medal of Merit: The University Board, faculty leadership, the Umeå School of Education, the Umeå University Library, the University Administration, trade unions and Umeå University's student unions. The nomination period runs from *15 November until 15 December* in the year preceding the medal being awarded.
- Nominations must include a letter of no more than 1,200 characters (excluding spaces) explaining why the nominee is worthy of the award.

2.3. Committee

- A committee comprising the chair, one student and one teacher from the University Board will propose the recipient of the medal chosen from the nominations submitted. The committee will also formulate the official reasons for the award.
- The committee must observe gender equality when proposing the medal recipient.
- The formal decision will be taken when the University Board convenes in February.
- The academy clerk will act as secretary and coordinator of the prize committee.

2.4. Awarding

- The Medal of Merit is awarded during the University's Annual Celebration Ceremony.
- The medal is awarded by the chair of the University Board, or in the event of their absence, by the Vice-Chancellor.



Appendix 1

Previous recipients of the Umeå University Medal of Merit

The following twenty people have received the Umeå University Medal of Merit:

1985

- 1. Doctor of Dental Medicine Ingrid Brynolf
- 2. City Librarian Sven-Ola Hellmér
- 3. Vice-Chancellor Lars-Gunnar Larsson
- 4. Minister Gösta Skoglund
- 5. County Custodian of Antiquities Gunnar Westin

1990

- 6. Minister and County Governor Ragnar Edenman
- 7. County Governor Sven Johansson
- 8. Director Carl Kempe
- 9. Minister and Director-General Sven Moberg

1992

- 10. Vice-Chancellor Lars Beckman
- 11. University Director Dan Brändström

1999

12. University Chancellor and Vice-Chancellor Sigbrit Franke

2003

13. Professor Gunnar Öqvist

2010

14. Vice-Chancellor Göran Sandberg

2013

- 15. Professor Lars Hjalmar Lindholm
- 16. Professor Hans Wolf-Watz

2015 (Extra award ceremony as part of the University's 50th anniversary celebrations)

- 17. Professor Bengt Palmgren
- 18. Professor Bernt Eric Uhlin

2016

- 19. Professor Emerita and Vice-Chancellor Lena Gustafsson
- 20. Professor Britta Lundgren