Skip to content

About the Department

The Department of Physics belongs to the Faculty of Science and Technology at Umeå University.

Originally the department included both physics and applied physics and electronics, but in 1993 it was divided into two units, the Department of Physics and the Department of Applied Physics and Electronics.

At present about 100 people work at the new Department of Physics, professors, lecturers, researchers, guest professors, postdocs, doctoral students, and technical and administrative staff. We carry out research and research education in various fields, for example in optical physics, nonlinear physics, plasma physics, general relativity, condensed matter physics and nanotechnology, photonics, biological physics, complex networks, space physics and physics education.