Skip to content

Departments and units

Most of the education and research at the University takes place at our departments.

Departments carry out education as well as research within one or several related issues. The department is the primary work place, not just for students, teachers and researchers, but also for other professionals such as administrators, janitors, technicians and instrument makers. The department is normally led by a departmental board where at least two students are members. The head of every department has the title head of department (in Swedish: prefekt).

Find our departments and sections in this list of the University organisation.


Arctic Research Centre at Umeå University (Arcum)


Bildmuseet (Museum of Contemporary Art and Visual Culture)
Building Office


Centre for Biomedical Engineering and Physics (CMTF)
Centre for Demographic and Aging Research at Umeå University (CEDAR)
Centre for Educational Development
Centre for Environmental and Resource Economics (CERE)
Centre for Principal Development
Centre for Regional Science at Umeå University
Centre for Sami Research (Cesam) - Vaartoe
Centre for Sustainable Cement and Quicklime Production
Climate Impacts Research Centre (CIRC)
Communications Office


Department of Applied Educational Science
Department of Applied Physics and Electronics
Department of Biobank Research
Department of Chemistry
Department of Clinical Microbiology
Department of Clinical Science
Department of Community Medicine and Rehabilitation
Department of Computing Science
Department of Creative Studies (Teacher Education)
Department of Culture and Media Studies
Department of Ecology and Environmental Science
Department of Education
Department of Epidemiology and Global Health
Department of Food and Nutrition
Department of Geography
Department of Historical, Philosophical and Religious Studies
Department of Informatics
Department of Integrative Medical Biology (IMB)
Department of Language Studies
Department of Law
Department of Mathematics and Mathematical Statistics
Department of Medical Biochemistry and Biophysics
Department of Medical Biosciences
Department of Molecular Biology
Department of Nursing
Department of Odontology
Department of Pharmacology and Clinical Neuroscience
Department of Physics
Department of Plant Physiology
Department of Political Science
Department of Psychology
Department of Public Health and Clinical Medicine
Department of Radiation Sciences
Department of Science and Mathematics Education
Department of Social Work
Department of Sociology
Department of Surgical and Perioperative Sciences
Digital Social Research Unit at Umeå University (DIGSUM)


European CBRNE Centre
External Relations Office


Financial Office
Faculty of Medicine, Dean's Office


High Performance Computing Centre North (HPC2N)


ICT Services and System Development
Internal Audit Office
International Office
IT Office


Laboratory for Molecular Infection Medicine Sweden (MIMS)


Office for Human Resources


Planning Office
Police Education Unit at Umeå University


Service Office
Student Services




Umeå Centre for Comparative Biology (UCCB)
Umeå Centre for Functional Brain Imaging (UFBI)
Umeå Centre for Gender Studies (UCGS)
Umeå Centre for Microbial Research (UCMR)
Umeå Centre for Molecular Medicine (UCMM)
Umeå Marine Sciences Centre (UMF)
Umeå Mathematics Education Research Centre (UMERC)
Umeå Plant Science Centre (UPSC)
Umeå School of Business, Economics and Statistics (USBE)
Umeå University Library
Unit of Economic History
University Administration
University Management


Wallenberg Centre for Molecular Medicine at Umeå University (WCMM)


Vice-Chancellor's Office