Skip to content
Main menu hidden.

Prize winners 2014

The RiseB thesis prize was awarded the first time in 2014 (for theses written in 2013). Six theses that were in compliance with the rules were nominated from universities and business schools all over Sweden. The prize is a scholarship of 25 000 SEK which is financed by Umeå Energi, and an optional course from CSR Sweden.

2014 Prize winners

The RiseB thesis prize in 2014 was awarded to Sebastian Levall och Brita Prejer for their thesis Inclusive business and shared values: A case study in Laos.

Award motivation

The thesis of Levall and Prejer is ambitious and well written with an important call for multinational companies to take local conditions and sustainability issues into account in their operations in dysfunctional political systems. Levall and Prejer also show the importance of involving stakeholders when establishing operations in politically and environmentally sensitive areas. The authors go beyond the usual essay writing having visited Laos and studied the problems and opportunities in a company's sustainability and internationalization process.

The authors have written the thesis at the Department of Economics at SLU in Uppsala and was tutored by Associate Professor Cecilia Mark-Herbert. The essay is available here.

The Honorable mention in 2014 was awarded to Emil Dahl and Dennis Fadel for the essay Corporate Social Responsibility: A comparative case study of three companies. The essay was written at Umeå School of Business and Economics at Umeå University and was tutored by Professor Kiflemariam Hamde. The essay is available here.

The jury for the 2014 essay price included:
Dr. Johan Jansson, RiseB, Umeå School of Business and Economics, Professor Lars Hassel, Vice Chancellor, Umeå School of Business and Economics, Associate Professor Karl Johan Bonnedahl, RiseB, Umeå School of Business and Economics, Professor Tommy Jensen, Stockholm University, Professor Johan Sandstrom, Luleå University of Technology, HR Manager Mari-Louise Johansson, Umeå Energi, Operations Manager Marianne Bogle, CSR Sweden.

The RiseB essay prize was awarded at the Umeå School of Business and Economics graduation ceremony on June 5, 2014.

Latest update: 2019-04-10