Skip to content
Main menu hidden.

Image: WCMM

About WCMM

The Steering Committee, Director and Co-Director of the Wallenberg Centre for Molecular Medicine are appointed by the Vice-Chancellor of Umeå University. WCMM is an organizational unit within the Faculty of Medicine and is administrated by the Dean´s Office. The Scientific Advisory Board consists of international scientific experts.


Lars Nyberg, Professor
Department of Radiation Sciences
Phone: +46 70-609 27 75
Email: lars.nyberg@umu.se


Andrei Chabes, professor
Institutionen för medicinsk kemi och biofysik
Telefon: 073-620 54 46
E-post: andrei.chabes@umu.se

Research coordinator

Mikael Stiernstedt
Department of Radiation Sciences
Phone: +46 72-51 66 560
E-mail: mikael.stiernstedt@umu.se



Christina Koppelman, Financial manager
Faculty of Medicine, Deans Office
Telefon: 090-786 52 58
E-post: christina.koppelman@umu.se


Steering Group

Katrine Riklund, Chair,
Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Umeå University
Phone: +46 70-397 96 84
Email: katrine.riklund@umu.se

Anna Arnqvist, Vice Chair,
Associate Dean for Research, Faculty of Medicine
Phone: +46 90-786 65 39
Email: anna.arnqvist@umu.se

Helena Edlund, Professor
Umeå Centre for Molecular Medicine (UCMM)
Phone: +46 90-785 44 29
Email: helena.edlund@umu.se






Göran K Hansson, professor
Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation (KAW)
Telephone: 08-673 95 00
E-mail: goran.hansson@kva.se

Per Arvidsson, Platform Director
Drug, Discovery & Development, SciLifeLab; Karolinska Institutet
Phone: +46 90-785 67 31
Email: per.arvidsson@ki.se






Göran Larsson
Director of research and development, Region Västerbotten.
E-mail: goran.larsson@regionvasterbotten.se 

Scientific Advisory Board

The SAB consists of four international scientific experts representing different research areas.

Professor Carolina Wählby (artificial intelligence)
Department of Information Technology, Uppsala University, Sweden

Professor Juha Rinne (neurosciences)
Turku PET Centre, Åbo University, Finland

Professor Kristin Austild Tasken (cancer)
Institute for Cancer Research, Oslo University Hospital, University of Oslo, Norway

Professor Jonathan Seckl (metabolic disorders including diabetes)
SAB Chair
Centre for Cardiovascular Science, The Queens Medical Research Institute, Edinburgh University, UK

Latest update: 2022-12-08