Skip to content
printicon
Main menu hidden.

About WCMM

The Steering Committee, Director and Co-Director of the Wallenberg Centre for Molecular Medicine are appointed by the Vice-Chancellor of Umeå University. WCMM is an organizational unit within the Faculty of Medicine and is administrated by the Dean´s Office. The Scientific Advisory Board consists of international scientific experts.

Director

Lars Nyberg, Professor
Department of Radiation Sciences
Phone: +46 70-609 27 75
Email: lars.nyberg@umu.se

Co-Director

Tommy Olsson, Professor 
Department of Public Health and Clinical Medicine
Phone: +46 90-785 18 45
Email: tommy.g.olsson@umu.se

Controller

Jenny Kurki, Financial manager
Faculty of Medicine, Deans Office
Phone: +46 90-786 53 23
Email: jenny.kurki@umu.se

Research coordinator

Mikael Stiernstedt
Department of Radiation Sciences
Phone: +46 72-51 66 560
E-mail: mikael.stiernstedt@umu.se

 

Steering Group

Katrine Riklund, Chair,
Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Umeå University
Phone: +46 70-397 96 84
Email: katrine.riklund@umu.se

Anna Arnqvist, Vice Chair,
Associate Dean for Research, Faculty of Medicine
Phone: +46 90-786 65 39
Email: anna.arnqvist@umu.se

Helena Edlund, Professor
Umeå Centre for Molecular Medicine (UCMM)
Phone: +46 90-785 44 29
Email: helena.edlund@umu.se

Lars Björck, Professor
Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation (KAW)
Phone: +46 46-222 44 92
Email:lars.bjorck@med.lu.se

Per Arvidsson, Platform Director
Drug, Discovery & Development, SciLifeLab; Karolinska Institutet
Phone: +46 90-785 67 31
Email: per.arvidsson@ki.se

 

 

 

 

 

Göran Larsson
Director of research and development, Region Västerbotten.
E-mail: goran.larsson@regionvasterbotten.se 

Scientific Advisory Board

The SAB consists of four international scientific experts representing different research areas.

Professor Carolina Wählby (artificial intelligence)
Department of Information Technology, Uppsala University, Sweden

Professor Juha Rinne (neurosciences)
Turku PET Centre, Åbo University, Finland

Professor Kristin Austild Tasken (cancer)
Institute for Cancer Research, Oslo University Hospital, University of Oslo, Norway

Professor Jonathan Seckl (metabolic disorders including diabetes)
SAB Chair
Centre for Cardiovascular Science, The Queens Medical Research Institute, Edinburgh University, UK