Skip to content
printicon

About WCMM

The Steering Committee, Director and Co-Director of the Wallenberg Centre for Molecular Medicine are appointed by the Vice-Chancellor of Umeå University. WCMM is an organizational unit within the Faculty of Medicine and is administrated by the Dean´s Office. The Scientific Advisory Board consists of international scientific experts.

Director

Lars Nyberg, Professor
Department of Radiation Sciences
Phone: +46 70-609 27 75
Email: lars.nyberg@umu.se

Co-Director

Tommy Olsson, Professor 
Department of Public Health and Clinical Medicine
Phone: +46 90-785 18 45
Email: tommy.g.olsson@umu.se

Controller

Tobias Näslund, Financial manager
Department of Public Health and Clinical Medicine
Phone: +46 70-647 92 34
Email: tobias.naslund@umu.se

Research Coordinator

Maria Israelsson Nordström, PhD
Dean´s Office, Faculty of Medicine
Phone: +46 90-786 56 71
Email: maria.nordstrom@umu.se

Steering Group

Katrine Riklund, Chair,
Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Umeå University
Phone: +46 70-397 96 84
Email: katrine.riklund@umu.se

Anna Arnqvist, Vice Chair,
Associate Dean for Research, Faculty of Medicine
Phone: +46 90-786 65 39
Email: anna.arnqvist@umu.se

Clas Ahlm, professor
Director of Research and Education,
Västerbotten County Council
Phone: +46 90-786 50 24
Email: clas.ahlm@umu.se

Helena Edlund, Professor
Umeå Centre for Molecular Medicine (UCMM)
Phone: +46 90-785 44 29
Email: helena.edlund@umu.se

Lars Björck, Professor
Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation (KAW)
Phone: +46 46-222 44 92
Email:lars.bjorck@med.lu.se

Per Arvidsson, Platform Director
Drug, Discovery & Development, SciLifeLab; Karolinska Institutet
Phone: +46 90-785 67 31
Email: per.arvidsson@ki.se

Scientific Advisory Board

The SAB consists of four international scientific experts representing the research areas of WCMM.

Professor Gisou van der Goot (infection biology)
EPFL School of Biological Sciences, Global Health Institute, Lausanne, Switzerland

Professor Juha Rinne (neurosciences)
Turku PET Centre, Åbo University, Finland

Professor Anne-Lise Børresen-Dale (cancer)
Institutt för Kreftforskning, Oslo University Hospital, University of Oslo, Norway

Professor Jonathan Seckl (metabolic disorders including diabetes)
SAB Chair
Centre for Cardiovascular Science, The Queens Medical Research Institute, Edinburgh University, UK