Skip to content
Main menu hidden.

Workshop Invitation - An Arctic Profile for Umeå University

Time Thursday 3 February, 2022 at 15:15 - 17:00
Place Online

Umeå University has issued an open call for preproposals for profile areas

At Umeå University a process is initiated to identify so called ‘profile areas’. The process has the dual purpose of preparing for a new national funding model based on Profile Areas, as stated in the Swedish governments latest Research Bill, and developing the strategic work at Umeå University to further enhance the quality and competitiveness of research

Since we are convinced that Arctic research at Umeå University meets the “fundamental prerequisite … of high international quality” the Arctic Centre (ARCUM) is now starting a process to suggest an Arctic profile for Umeå university and invites therefore interested researchers to an open workshop. During the workshop background and requirements for preproposals will be presented as well as initial thoughts on thematic orientation and organization. Furthermore, we are looking for input and suggestions for the further process.

Who should participate?

All Umeå University researchers with an interest in Arctic research are welcome, independent of faculty, department, or previous ARCUM-affiliation. Particularly we would like to encourage senior researchers with a strong research record within the field to the attend the workshop.

In this stage the university is looking very broadly for initiatives and hence, even researchers already committed to other preproposals are welcome to participate.

In case you would like to be part of developing a preproposal but do not have any possibility to attend, please let us know by an email to

Considering the current pandemic situation, the seminar will be held online and a link will be sent out in time to all registered participants.

For registration, please contact Anngelica, see contact information below.

Event type: Workshop
Staff photo Dieter Müller
Dieter Müller
Professor, other position
Read about Dieter Müller
Anngelica Kristoferqvist
Read about Anngelica Kristoferqvist