Skip to content
Main menu hidden.
Published: 2024-06-05

Ferenc Krausz and Anne L'Huillier appointed honorary doctors at Umeå University

NEWS Anne L'Huillier and Ferenc Krausz, Nobel Laureates in Physics, has been appointed honorary doctors at the Faculty of Science and Technology, at Umeå University. Both have strong links to the University through research collaborations and mentoring.

Professor Anne L'Huillier and Professor Ferenc Krausz are two of the three laureates who were awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics in 2023 for their discoveries in attosecond physics. Ferenc Krausz has for many years collaborated with László Veisz at the Department of Physics and initiated several of the research programmes conducted at Umeå University. He has also supported the University with important hardware in the construction of the relativistic attosecond physics laboratory, REAL.

More recently, Ferenc Krausz's interest in molecular spectroscopic ‘fingerprinting’ methods has drawn his attention to the biobanks in Umeå, where new potential collaborative projects are currently being evaluated.

Anne L'Huillier has also helped Umeå University to strengthen its research through effective collaborations, including optimising equipment at REAL. She is very active in mentoring younger colleagues and supporting women in their careers, among others Aleksandra Foltynowicz at the Department of Physics. In addition, she has mentored several researchers and assisted as a faculty opponent, peer reviewer and member of review committees at Umeå University.

Anne L'Huillier and Ferenc Krausz will receive the title of honorary doctor for their many years of commitment and efforts that have been of great importance for the successful research conducted at the Department of Physics, especially in the field of attosecond physics.

Ferenc Krausz and Anne L'Huillier last visited Umeå University in December 2023 and February 2024 respectively, where they each gave a public lecture on the research that led to the Nobel Prize, met with research colleagues and visited laboratories.

List of honorary doctors at the Faculty