Skip to content
Main menu hidden.

The library's organisation

The library is organised into seven sections, one unit, library management and library board.


  • Archives and Special Collections
  • Customer Services
  • IT
  • Library Office
  • Media
  • Medical Library
  • Scholarly Communication


  • Centre for Educational Development


  • Library Board
  • Library Director
  • Library Management
  • Centre for Educational Development Board

Library Director

Mikael Sjögren
Library director

Library Board

The library is directed by the Library Board, which consists of deans, deputy deans, student representatives, one member appointed by the library, and union representatives with the right to make statements and proposals. Each year the Library Board defines the activity plan and annual report, as well as the annual accounts and budget.

Members 1 January 2022 - 31 December 2025:

  • Dieter Müller, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (chair of the board)
  • Mikael Sjögren, Library Director at Umeå University Library
  • Malin Josefsson, Deputy Library Director at Umeå University Library
  • Morgan Palmqvist, Library Director at Gothenburg University Library
  • Maria Nilsson, Professor at the Faculty of Medicine
  • Karolina Broman, Associate Dean at the Faculty of Science and Technology
  • Gregory Neely, Deputy Dean at the Faculty of Social Sciences
  • Christer Nordlund, Dean of the Faculty of Arts
  • Lars-Erik Lauritz, Director of Umeå School of Education
  • Representatives for the student unions: William Nordberg (NTK), Nemrut Karatas (UMS) and Paulette van der Voet (US)

Co-opted members (union representatives):

  • Anders Lennver, representative for the union ST
  • Petra Mörtvik, representative for the union Saco 


  • Hanna Rantamäki, Administrative Manager at Umeå University Library (secretary)
  • Sara Öström, Controller at Umeå University Library
Latest update: 2024-03-13