Skip to content
Main menu hidden.
Published: 2023-06-21 Updated: 2023-06-22, 09:31

Dieter Müller new member of The Royal Swedish Academy of Science

Dieter Müller, a driving force behind Arctic research and education, recently secured a prestigious position in The Royal Swedish Academy of Science, a testament to his significant contributions at Umeå University and beyond. As a leading figure in the Arctic Centre at Umeå University for over a decade, including tenure as chair, his influence has been pivotal.

Müller’s accomplishments include initiating the Arctic Five - a collaboration with universities in Tromsø, Luleå, Rovaniemi and Oulu - and the Arctic Five Chairs & Fellows Program. Notably, the Arctic research spans diverse areas, including climate change, security, health, indigenous issues, ecology, technology, tourism, regional development, space research, green transition, and demography.

A renowned scholar in tourism and regional development in the Arctic, Müller has been recognized with international awards and continues to be a prolific researcher, while engaged in his multitude of responsibilities. The Arctic Research Center at Umeå University celebrates his appointment to the Royal Swedish Academy of Science.