Skip to content

About KBC

KBC is part of Umeå University and of the Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences (SLU)

In the mid 1990th the chemistry and physiology buildings (kemi- och fysiologihusen) were connected by a new building. One of the ambitions with this was to strengthen the research in the interface between chemistry and biology. In 2006 the evaluation of future organization of chemistry in Umeå "Molekylärt samspel" suggested reorganization of chemistry linked to recruitment of new professors, also including other departments within the KBC complex. To support this development the university has appointed a KBC-group led by a scientific coordinator. The task for this group is to promote a positive and creative environment for research, graduate- and undergraduate teaching. The aim is to develop KBC into a world leading research and teaching environment.

The KBC Group

All departments and research units within the KBC environment are represented in the KBC Group, the board, who is coordinating the research and infrastructure activities at KBC.

The group meets one time per month and is chaired by Stefan Björklund, professor at the Department of Medical Biochemistry and Biophysics. The KBC communication officer, Anna Shevtsova, is a secretary for the group.

Members of the KBC Group 2018-2019

KBC group

Stefan Björklund
Chair, Scientific Coordinator of KBC
Professor, Department of Medical Biochemistry and Biophysics

Fredrik Almqvist
Professor, Department of Chemistry
Deputy: Lars Lövgren, Associate professor, Head of department

Ann-Kristin Bergström
Professor, Department of Ecology and Environmental Science (EMG)
Deputy: Kerstin Abbing, University lecturer

Christoffer Boman
Associate professor, Department of Applied Physics and Electronics, TEC-Lab
Deputy: Markus Broström, Associate professor

Andrei Chabes
Professor, Department of Medical Biochemistry and Biophysics, Head of department

Lena Gunhaga
Professor, Umeå Centre for Molecular Medicine (UCMM), Head of department
Deputy: Ulf Ahlgren, Professor

Hardy Hall
KBCon, Facilitator

Stefan Jansson
Professor, Department of Plant Physiology (UPSC)
Deputy: Johannes Hanson, Associate professor

Thomas Moritz
Professor, Department of Forest Genetics and Plant Physiology, SLU
Deputy: Karin Ljung, Professor, Head of department

Per-Arne Oldenborg
Professor, Department of Integrative Medical Biology (IMB), Head of department
Deputy: Karl-Gunnar Westberg, Associate professor

Marianne Sommarin
Professor, UmU Management, Senior advisor for Research Infrastructure

Michael Thyrel
Associate Senior Lecturer, Forest Biomaterials and Technology, SLU
Deputy: Francesco Gentili, Researcher

Bernt Eric Uhlin
Professor, Department of Molecular Biology,
Molecular Infection Medicine Sweden (MIMS) and Umeå Centre for Microbial Research (UCMR)

Thomas Wågberg
Professor, Department of Physics, Head of department
Deputy: Kjell Rönnmark, Professor emeritus

Erik Ånger
Service center KBC and Department of Chemistry, Service director

Contact information


Stefan Björklund

Professor, Scientific Coordinator for KBC

Visiting Address: Department of Medical Biochemistry and Biophysics, KBC - building

Tel: +46 90-786 6788


Communication officers KBC

Anna Shevtsova, PhD, Communication officer for KBC (75%)
+46 (0)70 547 2672

Anne Honsel, PhD, Communication officer for KBC (10%) and UPSC (90%)
+46 7(0)70 285 6657

Visiting Address: KBC-building, Linnaeus väg 6, 90736 Umeå