Skip to content

The KBC Departments and Collaboration Partners

KBC comprises several departments from three faculties at Umeå University (UmU) and the Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences (SLU).

The KBC Departments

Department of Ecology and Environmental Sciences

We gather researchers, teachers and students in the area of environment and nature.

The Department of Physics
The Department of Physics

The Department of Physics belongs to the Faculty of Science and Technology at Umeå University.

Department of Medical biochemistry and biophysics
Department of Medical biochemistry and biophysics

Scientists at the department study the structure and function of genes and proteins.

Department of Plant Physiology
Department of Plant Physiology

Our main activities are academic research in experimental plant biology.

Thermochemical Energy Conversion Laboratory (TEC-Lab)

The research area is within thermochemical energy conversion, mainly focusing on biomass but also on other sol.

Several departments are joined at KBC. From the Faculty of Science and Technology, UmU  - the departments of Ecology and Environmental Sciences, Plant Physiology, Physics, Chemistry, and Thermochemical Energy Conversion Laboratory (TEC-Lab), a part of the department of Applied Physics and Electronics; from the Faculty of Medicine - the Department of Medical Biochemistry and Biophysics. The Department of Forest Genetic and Plant Physiology and the Department of Forest Biomaterials and Technology are representing SLU. The Department of Forest Genetics (SLU) and the Department of Plant Physiology (UmU) form the Umeå Plant Science Center (UPSC).

Collaboration partners