Skip to content

Departmental Staff

Head of Department


Allison Churcher, senior research assistant
Ana Henriques De Oliveira, postgraduate student, mc
Anders Nordström, senior lecturer (associate professor)
Anna Bergonzini, postgraduate student
Anna Fahlgren, senior research engineer
Anna-Mia Johansson, senior research engineer
Annika Johansson, senior research engineer (absent), coordinator, research
Annika Sjöström, senior research engineer
Björn Schröder, researcher

My research focuses on the interaction between diet, gut microbiota and mucosal barrier function.

Chayan Kumar Saha, postgraduate student
Claire Sayers, coordinator, project
Dan Hultmark, professor, senior (absent)
David Cisneros Armas, senior research assistant

Molecular Biology of human bacterial symbionts

Dharmender Kumar, senior research assistant
Edvin Karlsson, postgraduate student
Eric Toh, postgraduate student
Eva-Maria Diehl, other position

Communication officer for The Laboratory for Molecular Infection Medicine Sweden (MIMS) with focus on research in life sciences and medicine.

Fabiola Puertolas Balint, other position, project assistant
Farag Salah Ibrahim, postgraduate student, research assistant
Felipe Cava, senior lecturer (associate professor)
Firoj Mahmud, postgraduate student
Fu Xu, research assistant
Gemma Atkinson, research fellow (assistant professor)

Assistant professor who studies the functional evolution of proteins that interact with the ribosome, and that are involved in antibiotic resistance and response to stress.

Hans Stenlund, senior research engineer
Hasan Tukenmez, postdoctoral position
Henrik Lindehell, postgraduate student
Ingela Nilsson, laboratory technician
Isabelle Sjöström, administrator, finance
Jacob Lewerentz, postgraduate student
Jannike Hurenkamp, HR administrator (absent)
Javier Avila-Carino, senior research engineer
Jeanette Tångrot, senior research engineer
Jens-Ola Ekström, senior research assistant
Johnny Stenman, administrative secretary
Julius Semenas, postgraduate student
Karsten Meier, postgraduate student
Katarina Vielfort, senior research assistant
Katharina Wulff, senior lecturer (associate professor)
Kristina Nilsson, laboratory technician
Lalitha Tadala, postgraduate student
Laura Alvarez, senior research engineer
Lina Helgesson, administrator, department
Magesh Muthu, senior research engineer
Magnus Ölander, postdoctoral position, postdoctor
Marek Wilczynski, system administrator, IT
Margus Tonu, senior research assistant
Maria Ivanova, postgraduate student
Maria Kim, senior research assistant
Maria Westling, coordinator, finance
Mark Lindholm, other position
Michael Gilmore, other position, postgraduate student
Mikael Rhen, professor, visiting
Mikael Wikström, senior research engineer, other position
Moa Lundkvist, project assistant
Nelson Ongondo Gekara, administrator, other position
Nina Norgren, senior research assistant
Per Larsson, research engineer
Peter Lind, research fellow (assistant professor)
Saskia Erttmann, senior research engineer (absent), research fellow (assistant professor)
Shadi Jafari, senior research assistant
Steffi Jimmy, research assistant (absent)
Tatiana Kan, senior research engineer
Teresa Frisan, professor

Teresa Frisan, PhD, is Professor in Cell and Molecular Biology at Umeå University, actively involved in research and in teaching within the frame of undergraduate programs.

Teresa Tiensuu, senior research engineer
Tianyan Wang, postgraduate student
Ulf Persson, research engineer
Ulrich von Pawel-Rammingen, senior lecturer (associate professor)
Victoriia Murina, senior research assistant
Vikash Pandey, senior research engineer
Viktoria Vedin, senior research engineer

Study councellor for the Bachelor's programmes in Life science and Biomedicine, Master's programmes in Biotechnology, Molecular Biology and Biomedicine.

Yngve Östberg, senior research engineer
Yuri Schwartz, senior lecturer (associate professor)
Åke Forsberg, professor, senior