Skip to content

Information for students, faculty and staff regarding COVID-19. (Updated: 15 April 2021)


Department of Political Science


Abrak Saati

Abrak Saati is a senior researcher at the Department of Political Science. 

Anderz Andersson
Andreas Henriksson

I am a doctoral candidate in political science and my research is about exploring how faith-based organizations in Asia work against human trafficking. 

Anna Rantala
Anna Zachrisson

Anna Zachrisson is an Associate Professor in Political Science and her research deals with natural resource and environmental policy and management, in particular in regards to peripheral regions.

Björn Ahlström
Camilla Thellbro
David Feltenius

My general research interests concerns 'the politics of aging', central-local government relations and privatizations in the welfare municipality. For a full presentation, please see below!

Dzenan Sahovic

Dzenan Sahovic is Associate Professor in Political Science doing research on peace and security and teaching crisis management and peacebuilding. 

Elin Stark

PhD within Political Science with an orientation towards educational policy. 

Elisabeth Olivius

Elisabeth Olivius is a lecturer in peace and conflict studies. Her research explores how gendered relations of power are produced and reshaped in conflict, displacement and peacebuilding. 

Elsa Reimerson

Associate professor in political science. My research interests lie in environmental politics and policy, with a focus on collaborative governance, conservation, and the rights of Indigenous peoples.

Eva Leffler

I work as Associate professor at the Department of Education and teach and research primarily in school development.

Eva Sundström
Ewa Morén

Administrator, finance and education

Fredrika Moliis
Frida Grimm

PhD student at the Department of Education. My research interest is ´teacher leadership´ with focus on Swedish ´first teachers´ and their leadership. 

Gudrun Svedberg
Helene Ärlestig

Helene Ärlestig is professor in educational administration and director for Centre for Principal Development

Irina Mancheva

Research focuses on natural resource governance and management and environmental politics and policy.

Jennie Brandén
Jessika Wide

Jessika Wide is Associate Professor and appointed as Qualified Teacher. Her research interests deals with gender and politics; local and regional democracy; and elderly care and marketization.

Johan Hellström

Johan Hellström is a Senior Lecturer (Associate Professor) in Political Science and researching on political parties and governments in Europe.

Johanna Frank
Jonas Lindahl
Kalle Eriksson
Katarina Eckerberg

Katarina Eckerberg is professor in political science. Her expertise comprises environmental, climate and natural resource policy and politics at global, national and local level.

Katarina Norberg

Katarina Norberg is an Associate Professor in Education at the Centre for Principal Development, Umeå University  Sweden.

Katarina Roos
Kristina Ödmark
Lars Norqvist

Senior lecturer at the Centre for Principal Development (CPD), Department of Political sciences

Linn Antonsson
Magda Cardenas
Magnus Blomgren

Magnus Blomgren is associated professor in Political Science and Head of Department for the Political Science Department at Umeå University.

Magnus Larsson
Malin Nygren
Malin Åkebo
Malin Österlind
Malin E Wimelius
Maria Wester

Pedagogic developer, Ph D in Educational Work.

Marie Karling
Marie Olsson

HR-support at Department of Political Science, Centre for Principal Development and Umeå Centre for genusstudies.

Mattias Källström
Niklas Eklund
Patrik Johansson

Patrik Johansson is a teacher and researcher in peace and conflict studies, and coordinator of the Program for International Crisis and Conflict Management.

Petronella Sirkka
Petter Lundström
Rasmus Karlsson

Dr Rasmus Karlsson is an Associate Professor in political science. He has published widely on climate mitigation policy, development ethics, and global affairs from an ecomodernist perspective.

Rolf Hugoson

Two theoretical themes characterize my research: policy analysis and rhetorical theory. Empirically, there are three fields of interest: Cultural policy; Diplomacy & armed conflict; Urban history.

Sezen Atik Gumuscu
Staffan Ingmanson
Therese Bjärstig
Ulf Leo

Dr Ulf Leo is associate professor of Sociology of Law with a special focus on Educational Leadership. He is deputy head at the Centre for Principal Development. 

Veronica Strandh