Skip to content
Main menu hidden.

About us

Umeå School of Business, Economics and Statistics (USBE) is a university integrated business school located at Umeå University Campus. We have about 150 employees and more than 3000 students study in our programs per year. The areas of research and teaching are in Business Administration, Economics and Statistics.

We are known for our high quality of education, research, interaction with external stakeholders and our strong focus on internationalization. We are proud that our students, lecturers, and researchers represent a stimulating mix of people from different countries and cultures around the world. Since 2018 we are accredited by AACSB.

Vision, Mission and Values

USBE is a university-based business school firmly rooted in the region, nationally influential and internationally respected. Read more.


We act for a sustainable development by creating and spreading knowledge in education, research and in collaboration with others. Read more.

Management Team


Johan Jansson
Deputy Head of Business Administration

Kenneth Backlund
Deputy Head of Economics

Anders Lundquist
Deputy Head of Statistics

Anna Strömbom
Head of Administration

Sofia Isberg
Head of education

USBE Office

USBE Office assists the three departments in questions related to finances, internal and external communication, projects, recruitment and staff issues and IT-support. The USBE office also includes student support functions such as student counselling, career center as well as internationalization.




USBE Board

The Board of Directors is responsible for the USBE's overall, long-term mission, the school's vision, goals and strategies regarding education, research, as well as activities connected with business life and administration.

Mandate period: January 1, 2022 - December 31, 2025

Louise Ring (Chairperson)
Maria Hedblom
Jonas Häggström
Peter Juneblad
Sören Kock

Sofia Lundberg
Xavier de Luna
Ruth Mannelqvist
Ulrica Nylén
Per-Olof Ågren
Magnus Wikström (Substitute)
Sef Meens Eriksson (PhD student representative)

And two student representatives elected by the Umeå University students union.

Business Advisory Board

The Umeå School of Business, Economics and Statistics has a Business Advisory Board (BAB) which is made up of experts from the business community and the public sector, collaborating with the school in order to develop the school's activities.

Board members include the following:
Anna Andersdotter, Novus Group International AB
Ylva Billing, Skellefteå Science City
Nils-Olof Forsgren, Uminova Innovation
Henrik Johansson, Grant Thornton
Karin Johansson, Nordea
Sofia Lundberg, Handelshögskolan (convener)
Anna-Karin Nilsson, Vitec
Peter Renkel, Konftel
Oskar Riby, RISE
Tom Sarin, Komatsu Forest
Ann-Christine Schmidt, Skellefteå Kraft
Magnus Stenvall, Umeå Energi AB
David Sundström, Trafikverket
Kristina Säfsten, Övik Energi
Royne Söderström, Akademiska Hus
Anna Thoursie, Ledarna

International Advisory Board

The International Advisory Board (IAB) is an influential group of global policy and business leaders. The USBEs collaboration with IAB strengthens the school's international contacts and creates conditions for continuous dialogue with representatives of international business community and academia from different countries. IAB meets usually once a year in June or September. In between the meetings we stay in touch with the individual members of the group as regards various questions which reflect their special areas of expertise.

Board members include the following:

Dr Rob Britton
Principal AirLearn, and Adjunct Professor, Georgetown University, USA

Professor Stewart R Clegg
University of Technology Sydney, Australien also Honorary Doctor at the Faculty of Social Sciences at Umeå University

Professor Marian Geldner
Professor of Economics, Warsaw School of Economics, Poland

Dr. Devi R. Gnyawali
Department Head and R. B. Pamplin Professor, Pamplin College of Business, Virginia Tech, USA

Håkan Olofsson
Vice President, Internal Audit at Ball Corporation, USA

Dr. Lois Stevenson
Entreprenologist (consulting) at Self-employed, Ottawa, Canada

Dr. Simone Raschig
Solution Area Engagement Manager, SAP SE, Walldorf, Germany

Dr Emma Zetterdahl
Sr. Manager, Economic Research at Spotify Advertising

The Foundation for Economic Research - USBE

Peter Hansi, Handelsbanken – Chair
Hans Wiklund, Umeå University
Maria Annér Liedberg, COOP Nord
Anna Pettersson, Region Västerbotten
Greg Neely, Faculty of Social Science

Sofia Lundberg, USBE - Consulting
Carina Henningsson, Planning Office - Secretary

Per & Eivor Wikströms Foundation

Carl Wikström (Chair)
Eivor Wikström (Vice Chair)
Anders Wikström
Åke Fredholm sekreterare
Louise Ring
Ruth Mannelqvist
Sofia Lundberg

Contact us

Visitor's address

Social Sciences Building, Biblioteksgränd 6, Umeå

Postal and delivery adress

Umeå School of Business, Economics and Statistics
SE-901 87 Umeå


Phone (operator): +46 (0)90- 786 50 00

Latest update: 2023-03-14