Skip to content
Main menu hidden.

Faculties, schools and institutes

Umeå University has four faculties and six different schools, academies and institutes.


Umeå University’s departments and units are organised under four faculties: Faculty of Arts and Humanities, Faculty of Medicine, Faculty of Social Sciences and Faculty of Science and Technology. A faculty gathers the closely related subjects through education and research. Each faculty is headed by a dean, who is also the chairperson for the respective faculty board. The faculty boards are responsible for scientific research, undergraduate and postgraduate education within the faculty. The board members are elected to their posts, with the exception of student members.

Schools and institutes

The schools, academies and institutes at Umeå University offer depth and distinction, and coordinate education and research to promote greater competitiveness within their respective field.

View the full list of units at Umeå University

Latest update: 2022-11-18