Skip to content
Main menu hidden.

List of the organisation

A complete listing of university departments, units, research centres and administrative offices, sorted alphabetically.


Arctic Centre at Umeå University


Bildmuseet (Museum of Contemporary Art and Visual Culture)


Campus Services Office
Centre for Biomedical Engineering and Physics (CMTF)
Centre for Demographic and Ageing Research at Umeå University (CEDAR)
Centre for Digital Social Research (DIGSUM)
Centre for Educational Development
Centre for Environmental and Resource Economics (CERE)
Centre for Transdisciplinary AI
Centre for Principal Development
Centre for Regional Science at Umeå University
Centre for Sami Research (Cesam) - Várdduo
Climate Impacts Research Centre (CIRC)

Communications Office


Department of Applied Educational Science
Department of Applied Physics and Electronics
Department of Biobank Research
Department of Chemistry
Department of Clinical Microbiology
Department of Clinical Science
Department of Community Medicine and Rehabilitation
Department of Computing Science
Department of Creative Studies (Teacher Education)
Department of Culture and Media Studies
Department of Diagnostics and Intervention
Department of Ecology and Environmental Science
Department of Epidemiology and Global Health
Department of Education
Department of Food, Nutrition and Culinary Science
Department of Geography
Department of Historical, Philosophical and Religious Studies
Department of Informatics
Department of Integrative Medical Biology (IMB)
Department of Language Studies
Department of Law
Department of Mathematics and Mathematical Statistics
Department of Medical Biochemistry and Biophysics
Department of Medical Biosciences
Department of Molecular Biology
Department of Nursing
Department of Odontology
Department of Physics
Department of Plant Physiology
Department of Political Science
Department of Psychology
Department of Public Health and Clinical Medicine
Department of Science and Mathematics Education
Department of Social Work
Department of Sociology


European CBRNE Centre


Finance Office


High Performance Computing Centre North (HPC2N)
Human Resources Office


ICT Services and System Development
Internal Audit Office
International Office


Laboratory for Molecular Infection Medicine Sweden (MIMS)
Legal Affairs Office




Planning Office
Police Education Unit at Umeå University
Property Management Office


Research Support and Collaboration Office


Student Services Office


The Innovation Office at Umeå University
The Laboratory for Molecular Infection Medicine Sweden (MIMS)


Unit of Economic History
Umeå Centre for Functional Brain Imaging (UFBI)
Umeå Centre for Gender Studies (UCGS)
Umeå Centre for Microbial Research (UCMR)
Umeå Centre for Molecular Medicine (UCMM)
Umeå Marine Sciences Centre (UMF)
Umeå Mathematics Education Research Centre (UMERC)
Umeå Plant Science Centre (UPSC)
Umeå University Library
University Administration
University Management



Wallenberg Centre for Molecular Medicine at Umeå University (WCMM)

Advisory and decision-making bodies and partners

Strategic councils

There are four strategic councils at Umeå University that act advisory to the University within their fields – education, research, administration and equal opportunities.

Find out more

Committees and councils

Learn more about the advisory and decision-making bodies at Umeå University. These committees, boards and councils decide on university-wide matters and advise the Vice-Chancellor or other boards and councils.

Find out more

Corporations and foundations

Umeå University has ties to many corporations and foundations that help strengthen and improve our contacts with trade and industry. Together we share knowledge and develop new ideas.

Find out more

Latest update: 2024-04-03